Minimum wage workers in Arizona are set to get a jump in their pay come January.
Starting Jan. 1, 2020, the minimum wage in the state will rise to $12 an hour, a dollar higher than the current minimum of $11.
The change comes through Proposition 206, which Arizona voters approved in the 2016 election. That year, the minimum wage in the state was $8.05 an hour.
Prop 206 called for gradual, annual increases in the minimum wage until it hit the $12 mark in 2020. After that, increases are tied to inflation annually.
In 2017, the Arizona Chamber of Commerce and other industry groups sued to block the measure. Ultimately, the state’s Supreme Court justices ruled unanimously in favor of Prop 206 backers.
The 2016 measure passed in Arizona by 59 percent of voters, with 41 percent opposed.
In Flagstaff, the minimum wage will jump even higher on Jan. 1 — to $13 an hour, per its own city law. That will jump again in 2021 to $15 an hour.
Prop 206 also included new rules about paid leave for workers, mandating both full-time and part-time employees receive sick leave benefits.
Click here to learn more about Prop 206.