New Inductees To Be Added To The Arizona Sports Hall Of Fame

On August 1, 2018 Arizona Sports and Entertainment Commission (ASEC) announced the electees the 2018 Arizona Sports Hall of Fame class. The electees include:

Pat Tillman – Tillman a leader on ASU’s 1997 Rose Bowl-bound team, was selected to the Pac-10 All-Academic team three consecutive years, and graduated Summa Cum Laude from ASU’s W.P. Carey School of Business. Tillman went on to play safety for the Arizona Cardinals, and broke the franchise record for tackles in 2000. In the 2002, Tillman left his professional football career to join the Army. He was killed in Afghanistan on April 22, 2004. 

Gary Hall Jr. –  Hall started his sprinting career at Brophy College Preparatory and went on to represent the U.S. in the 1996, 2000 and 2004 Olympics. Hall won a total of 10 medals – five gold, three silver, two bronze.

Mark Grace – Grace played 16-year in the Major Leagues as a first baseman and finishing his career with the Diamondbacks. Grace was a leader on the Diamondbacks’ 2001 team that won the World Series. After his career, Grace was a television analyst and instructor for the Diamondbacks. 

Mike Candrea – Candera is the winningest coach in NCAA Division I softball history. Candrea’s Arizona Wildcat teams went to 22 Women’s College World Series and won eight national championships. Candera also coached the U.S. Olympic softball team to a gold medal in 2004 and a silver in 2008.

Sister Lynn Winsor BVM – Sister Lynn is Xavier College Prep’s Vice Principal for Activities and Athletic Director. Sister Lynn coached the Xavier girls’ golf team to a total of 35 Arizona golf titles, amounted a 457-25 record, and a .948 winning percentage.

Jeff Oscarson – During his 22-year career, Oscarson coached the Chaparral Firebirds to five state softball titles and had a total record of 450-122-3.

The Arizona Sports Hall of Fame honors athletes, coaches, administrators and other deserving individuals that have made significant contributions to Arizona sports. To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, individuals must meet one of three criteria:

• Be an Arizona native;
• Be immediately recognized as an Arizonan;
• Have made at least two significant contributions to the Arizona athletics community.

The 2018 class will be inducted on Thursday, November 1 during the Crest Insurance Group Arizona Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at the Scottsdale Plaza Resort.







Subscribe for Updates!

Be sure to check your email to confirm your subscription.