New High School Football Playoff Format Approved By AIA

High school football fans in Arizona will see a new change in the future after the Arizona Interscholastic Association approved a new open football playoff bracket.

The change will mean that the top teams from 4A, 5A and 6A can all now play each other for the state championship trophy.

During the most recent season in 2018, many fans wanted to see Saguaro, Centennial and Chandler high schools settle who’s the best team in the state of Arizona on the field.

Fans were unable to have their wish granted as each team won their classification championship.

Now, eight teams will play in the open division. The AIA will still hold state championships for teams in the other six classes.

Subscribe for Updates!

Be sure to check your email to confirm your subscription.