Arizona’s First Female Senator To Be Sworn In Today

Today, Kyrsten Sinema will be sworn into the Senate, which will mark her start as the state’s first federal female senator and first Democrat to hold the office since 1988.

In November, Sinema was elected over Republican Martha McSally in November after defeating the Republican by less than 2 percent of the vote. 

In the Nov. 6 race, 2.4 million votes were cast statewide with turnout having been 17 percentage points higher than the previous midterm. 

She will fill a role previously held by outgoing U.S. Sen. Jeff Flake, a Republican who assumed office in 2013. He announced in 2017 that he would not seek re-election.

After being picked by Arizona Gov. Doug Ducey to succeed outgoing U.S. Sen. Jon Kyl, McSally will soon join her former opponent in the Senate and serve out part of the late Sen. John McCain’s term. 

McSally will be sworn in after Sinema, but an exact date is yet to be set.

In order to fill the remainder of McCain’s seat through 2022, McSally can run in a 2020 special election before the seat is available for another full six-year term.

Sinema and McSally will be the first freshman pair from the state to serve in the Senate since after Arizona was given statehood in 1912.

Subscribe for Updates!

Be sure to check your email to confirm your subscription.