10 Arizona Fire Departments to Receive Over $2 Million From FEMA

U.S. Sen. Kyrsten Sinema announced Monday the Federal Emergency Management Agency awarded more than $2.6 million to 10 Arizona fire departments.

Fire departments in Phoenix, Forest Lakes, Mohave Valley, Globe, Flagstaff, Mesa, Claypool, Morristown, Mount Lemmon, and Prescott are set to receive the funds, according to a press release.

The funds have been made available via the Assistance to Firefighters Grant Program, which aids emergency personnel in acquiring resources that provide protection against fires and related hazards.

FEMA’s decision will “ensure Arizona’s firefighters have the resources needed to do their jobs safely during the ongoing coronavirus pandemic while protecting Arizona families,” Sinema said in the release.

Last week, Sinema introduced bipartisan legislation with U.S. Sen. John Cornyn of Texas that would direct a portion of the next round of federal coronavirus relief to special districts throughout the country.

The Special Districts Provide Essential Services Act would ensure fire, sewage, water, public utilities, flood control and public health special districts are eligible to receive future federal coronavirus financial aid.

Click here to read the full press release.

There were 310 special districts throughout Arizona considered ineligible for direct assistance from the federal coronavirus relief bill.